Divisions over proposed EU departure tax

While Sweden joins other countries in supporting the European Union departure tax, other countries including Cyprus are prepared to go against it with many arguing it will hit the poorest people hardest.

During a European Council recently, Netherlands proposed an EU departure tax, a tax that would add a levy of €7 (£6.25) to every flight departing from an airport inside of a member state.

France, Belgium, Luxembourg, Sweden and Finland are supporting the tax but Malta and Cyprus are not.

The islands fear they would be hurt by higher taxes on air travel.

French Finance Commissioner Pierre Moscovici however proposes a system of qualified-majority voting, which would fundamentally strengthen the EU’s ability to push through significant legislative change in the face of opposition.

EU departure tax would be applied uniformly to all citizens of all countries across the Union.

A departure tax is a fee charged (under various names) by a country when a person is leaving the country. Some countries charge a departure tax only when a person is leaving by air.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.